Login

Facebook now lets you pay to promote content posted by friends

Facebook cross promote

In case promoting your own Facebook posts hasn't been sucking enough money out of your wallet, the social network is now giving you the chance to highlight content posted by friends. You won't even need permission from your Facebook pals if you want to pay a small chunk of change and give their status update or uploaded photo prominent news feed placement. However, Facebook is no stranger to privacy concerns, so the company is placing some firm limits on who will be seeing the highlighted material. "You can only promote posts to the people that your friend originally shared with," says a company spokesperson. "If you have mutual friends, they’ll see that you shared it and promoted it." Additionally, only users with less than 5,000 friends / subscribers are eligible to take advantage of the cross promote tool, which Facebook says will become available in "a gradual global roll-out."

The Verge
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new Verge username and password

As part of the new Verge launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to Verge going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new Verge username and password

As part of the new Verge launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to Verge going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.
Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.