Login

Preserving your video game legacy in the days before credit rolls

Ninja Tel mobile command center

Decades ago, the completion of a video game didn't result in a 10-minute roll of developer credits — instead, players were usually presented with a simple congratulatory message and the name of the company that released the game. Determined to have their legacy implanted somewhere in the products they worked so hard to complete, some developers took to embedding messages or credits of their own into the very ROM code they were hired to create, proof of which can be seen at The Cutting Room Floor. Cabel Sesser, co-founder of OS X and iOS software development company Panic Inc., compiled a collection of these hidden gems on his personal site, which range from developer contact information and ASCII art to full-blown rants from coders upset with their games.

The Verge
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new Verge username and password

As part of the new Verge launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to Verge going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new Verge username and password

As part of the new Verge launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to Verge going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.
Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.